Govt Jobs Preparation Major Islands of the World 

Here, we are giving a list of the Major Islands of the World that will help the readers for enhancing GK for competitive exams like SSC CGL, MTS, CHSL, CPO, Railway etc.

What is Island?

✦ An Island is a land mass (smaller than a continent) that is surrounded by water.
✦ There are three types of Island: Continental Island; Oceanic Islands; and Tropical Island.
✦ An island in a lake or river may be called an eyot or holm.
✦ A group of geologically or geographically related islands is called an archipelago.

List of the Major Islands of the World

 Greenland (North America)

  • It is the largest island in the world.
  • Its capital is Nuuk (Godithab).
  • It was discovered and named by the Norse explorer Eric the Red in 986 A.D. and settled in coastal pockets by Norse colonies.
  • Only 5% of its area is habitable.

 New Guinea (‎Indonesian archipelago)

  • It is the island of the east Malay Archipelago to the north of Australia.
  • It is divided between the independent state of Papua-New Guinea in the east and the
  • Indonesian province of West Irian in the west.

 Kalimantan (‎Indonesia)

  • A region of Indonesia, comprising the southern part of the island of Borneo.
  • It comprises of the Saba province of Malaysia, the country of Brunei and the Kalimantan province of Indonesia.

 Madagascar (Indian Ocean)

  • It is the fourth largest island in the world.
  • It lies in the Indian Ocean, off the east coast of Africa from which it is separated by the Mozambique Channel.
  • Antananarivo is its capital.
  • Rich in mica, graphite, and chromite, its chief exports include vanilla, coffee, clove and sugar.

 Baffin (Canada)

  • This is the fifth largest in the world.
  • It is situated at the mouth of Hudson Bay.
  • The western part largely remain covered with ice with extensive glaciers.
  • Coastal fishing stations include Frobisher Bay, Cape Dyer, and Cane Dorset.

 Sumatra (‎Indonesia)

  • It is the seventh largest island of the world, separated from the Malaya Peninsula by the Strait of Malacca.
  • Its largest city and port is Medan.
  • It produces rubber and timber for export and its oil and other minerals provide three-quarters of Indonesian’s income.

 Honshu (Japan)

  • It is the largest of the four main islands of Japan.
  • Tokyo, Yokohama, Osaka, and Nagoya are situated in this island.
  • The highest mountain of Japan (Mt. Fuji – 3776 m), and the largest Lake Biwa lie on this island.

 Great Britain (United Kingdom)

  • England, Wales, and Scotland considered as a unit is known as Great Britain.
  • The name is also often used loosely to refer to the United Kingdom.
Here, we are giving a list of the Major Islands of the World that will help the readers for enhancing GK for competitive exams like SSC CGL, MTS, CHSL, CPO, Railway etc.

 Victoria (Arctic Ocean – Canada) 

  • It is the 9th largest island in the world.
  • The surrounding region is administered and supplied from Cambridge Bay on the island’s south-east coast.

 Ellesmere (Arctic Ocean – Canada) 

  • It was discovered in 1616 by William Baffin.
  • Fort Conger was the base from which Robert Peary led the first expedition to reach the North Pole in 1909.

 Sulawesi (West mid Pacific – Indonesia) 

  • Formerly known as Celebes.
  • It is situated between Borneo and Maluku islands.
  • In Indonesia, only Sumatra, Borneo, and Papua are larger in territory.

 Mindanao (West mid Pacific – Philippines)     

  • It is the second largest and easternmost island of Philippines.
  • The island of Mindanao is called The Land of Promise.
  • Mindanao is the only area of Philippines with a significant Muslim population.
  • A guerrilla war is ongoing on this island.

 South Island (New Zealand)

  • It is dominated by the Southern Alps which stretch along its western coast and rise to 3764 m at Mt. Cook, New Zealand’s highest peak.
  • It was sighted by the Dutch navigator Tasman in 1642, and named after the Netherlands province of Zeeland.

 Java (Indonesia)

  • It is the most populous island of the world.
  • Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia is located along the west Java.
  • Formed mostly as the result of volcanic events.
  • Its highest elevation (Semeru) is 3676 m.

 North Island (New Zealand)

  • Lying in the South Pacific, it is the second largest island of New Zealand.
  • Active volcanism occurs in the central region of North Island, with many hot springs, and geysers.

 Luzon (Philippines)

  • It is the largest and economically and politically important island of Philippines.
  • Manila, the capital of Philippines, is located on this island.

 Newfoundland (North Atlantic – Canada) 

  • It was explored by John Cabot in 1497.
  • It is a former colony of United Kingdom.
  • It became the tenth province to the Confederation on 31st March, 1949, named simply as Newfoundland.

 Cuba (Caribbean Sea – Republic)

  • Spanish is the main language.
  • Havana, the capital and largest city of Cuba, is located on this island.
  • Cuba has a rainy, tropical climate.
  • Sugarcane is the main crop of Cuba which occupies about 60 per cent of the cultivated land.

 Iceland (North Atlantic – Republic)  

  • Located between the North Atlantic and the Arctic Ocean.
  • Iceland is an enormous plateau with an average altitude of 500 metres.
  • Reykjavik is the capital and primate city of the country.
  • About 96 per cent of Icelanders are the descendants of Norwegian, Scottish and Irish immigrants and are Protestants by faith.
More Important Links :

Staff Selection Commission - SSC CHSL (10+2) Pervious Years Paper Part - 1